Spring Awakening
Phoenix Players presents
Spring Awakening

11 Nov 2016 to 26 Nov 2016

Winner of 8 TONY Awards, including Best Musical, Spring Awakening celebrates the unforgettable journey from youth to adulthood with a power, poignancy, and passion that you will never forget.

Adapted from Frank Wedekind's 1891 expressionist play about the trials, tears, and exhilaration of the teen years, it has been hailed as the "Best Musical of the Year" by the New York Times, New York Post, Star Ledger, Journal News, New York Observer, and USA Today.

Spring Awakening takes its inspiration from one of literature's most controversial masterpieces - a work so daring in its depiction of teenage self-discovery, it was banned from the stage and not performed in its complete form in English for nearly 100 years.

It's Germany, 1891. A world where the grown-ups hold all the cards. The beautiful young Wendla explores the mysteries of her body, and wonders aloud where babies come from, till Mama tells her to shut it, and put on a proper dress.

Elsewhere, the brilliant and fearless young Melchior interrupts a mind-numbing Latin drill to defend his buddy Moritz - a boy so traumatised by puberty he can't concentrate on anything. Not that the Headmaster cares. He strikes them both and tells them to turn in their lesson.

One afternoon - in a private place in the woods - Melchior and Wendla meet by accident, and soon find within themselves a desire unlike anything they've ever felt.

As they fumble their way into one another's arms, Moritz flounders and soon fails out of school. When even his one adult friend, Melchior's mother, ignores his plea for help, he is left so distraught he can't hear the promise of life offered by his outcast friend Ilse.

Naturally, the Headmasters waste no time in pinning the "crime" of Moritz's suicide on Melchior and expel him. And soon Mama learns her little Wendla is pregnant. Now the young lovers must struggle against all odds to build a world together for their child.

Share This Event:   
Venue
ANU Arts Centre
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
120 minutes (inc. intermission)
Restrictions/WarningsMediaShow Administration
You may also like... The Great Divide The Great Divide
8 Mar 2024 to 27 Apr 2024 Session Times
Friday, 08 Mar 2024 8:00 pm
Saturday, 09 Mar 2024 2:00 pm
Saturday, 09 Mar 2024 8:00 pm
Sunday, 10 Mar 2024 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 12 Mar 2024 11:00 am
Tuesday, 12 Mar 2024 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 13 Mar 2024 7:30 pm
Thursday, 14 Mar 2024 7:30 pm
Friday, 15 Mar 2024 8:00 pm
Saturday, 16 Mar 2024 3:30 pm
Saturday, 16 Mar 2024 8:00 pm
Sunday, 17 Mar 2024 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 19 Mar 2024 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 20 Mar 2024 7:30 pm
Thursday, 21 Mar 2024 11:00 am
Thursday, 21 Mar 2024 7:30 pm
Friday, 22 Mar 2024 8:00 pm
Saturday, 23 Mar 2024 3:30 pm
Saturday, 23 Mar 2024 8:00 pm
Sunday, 24 Mar 2024 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 26 Mar 2024 11:00 am
Tuesday, 26 Mar 2024 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 27 Mar 2024 7:30 pm
Thursday, 28 Mar 2024 11:00 am
Thursday, 28 Mar 2024 7:30 pm
Saturday, 30 Mar 2024 3:30 pm
Saturday, 30 Mar 2024 8:00 pm
Tuesday, 02 Apr 2024 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 03 Apr 2024 7:30 pm
Thursday, 04 Apr 2024 11:00 am
Thursday, 04 Apr 2024 7:30 pm
Friday, 05 Apr 2024 8:00 pm
Saturday, 06 Apr 2024 3:30 pm
Saturday, 06 Apr 2024 8:00 pm
Sunday, 07 Apr 2024 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 09 Apr 2024 11:00 am
Tuesday, 09 Apr 2024 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 10 Apr 2024 7:30 pm
Thursday, 11 Apr 2024 11:00 am
Thursday, 11 Apr 2024 7:30 pm
Friday, 12 Apr 2024 8:00 pm
Saturday, 13 Apr 2024 3:30 pm
Saturday, 13 Apr 2024 8:00 pm
Sunday, 14 Apr 2024 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 16 Apr 2024 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 17 Apr 2024 7:30 pm
Thursday, 18 Apr 2024 11:00 am
Thursday, 18 Apr 2024 7:30 pm
Friday, 19 Apr 2024 8:00 pm
Saturday, 20 Apr 2024 3:30 pm
Saturday, 20 Apr 2024 8:00 pm
Sunday, 21 Apr 2024 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 23 Apr 2024 11:00 am
Tuesday, 23 Apr 2024 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 24 Apr 2024 11:00 am
Wednesday, 24 Apr 2024 7:30 pmFree Teen
Friday, 26 Apr 2024 8:00 pm
Saturday, 27 Apr 2024 3:30 pm
Saturday, 27 Apr 2024 8:00 pm
$40-99
Play
The Woman In BlackThe Woman In Black
9 Jul 2024 to 14 Jul 2024
$55-$135
Play
Happy Meals, Happy KidsHappy Meals, Happy Kids
7 Mar 2024 to 9 Mar 2024 Session Times
Thursday 7th March 7.30pm
Friday 8th March 7.30pm
Saturday 9th March 2pm
Saturday 9th March 7.30pm
$25-$35
Play
Lose to WinLose to Win
25 Apr 2024 to 19 May 2024 Session Times
Thursday 25 April 2024 7:30PM,
Friday 26 April 2024 7:30PM,
Thursday 2 May 2024 1:00PM,
Thursday 2 May 2024 7:30PM,
Sunday 5 May 2024 2:00PM,
Tuesday 7 May 2024 6:30PM,
Wednesday 8 May 2024 6:30PM,
Thursday 9 May 2024 7:30PM,
Friday 10 May 2024 1:00PM,
Friday 10 May 2024 7:30PM,
Sunday 12 May 2024 5:00PM,
Tuesday 14 May 2024 6:30PM,
Wednesday 15 May 2024 6:30PM,
Thursday 16 May 2024 1:00PM,
Thursday 16 May 2024 7:30PM,
Sunday 19 May 2024 2:00PM
$39-95
Play
Potted PotterPotted Potter
3 Apr 2024 to 7 Apr 2024
$69.95 - $89.95
Play