Australian Graffiti
Sydney Theatre Company presents
Australian Graffiti

7 Jul 2017 to 12 Aug 2017

Sydney Theatre Company presents
AUSTRALIAN GRAFFITI
By Disapol Savetsila

World premiere

Back to where we came from

Ben’s family has uprooted its restaurant business one too many times. Being the only Thai household in a small country town turns out not to be a great idea. And when graffiti starts appearing, tensions quickly escalate. Should they go back to Sydney? Should they go back to Thailand? Or should they keep heading west?

Australian Graffiti marks the debut of a remarkable young voice. Disapol Savetsila’s play is an investigation of the migrant experience from the inside out. Teasing out the complexities of identity and belonging, his writing – both wryly humorous and deeply affecting – offers an insight into Australian lives often overlooked.

Developed by STC in partnership with Asian Australian arts company Performance 4a and Playwriting Australia, Australian Graffiti is an STC commission directed by Paige Rattray, who has been part of the play’s evolution since its STC Rough Draft workshop in 2015.

“You can’t stay away from this place. It’s your home.”
Ben

 

 

 

Share This Event:   
Venue
Wharf 2 Theatre (Sydney Theatre Company)
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
1hr 30mins (no interval)
Restrictions/Warnings
You may also like... GreaseGrease
24 Mar 2024 to 26 May 2024
$69.90 - $199.90
Musical
PARADEPARADE
9 May 2024 to 25 May 2024 Session Times
Thu 9 May - 7:30pm
Fri 10 May - 7:30pm
Sat 11 May - 2pm
Sat 11 May - 7:30pm
Sun 12 May - 5pm
Mon 13 May - 7pm
Wed 15 May - 7pm
Thu 16 May - 7:30pm
Sat 18 May - 2pm
Sat 18 May - 7:30pm
Sun 19 May - 5pm
Mon 20 May - 7pm
Wed 22 May - 7pm
Thu 23 May - 7:30pm
Fri 24 May - 7:30pm
Sat 25 May - 2pm
Sat 25 May - 2pm
Sat 25 May - 7:30pm
$89 - $199
Musical
The Divine Miss BetteThe Divine Miss Bette
Show finished on 2 Feb 2024
$25 - $42.00
Musical
TINA  The Tina Turner MusicalTINA - The Tina Turner Musical
Show finished on 28 Jan 2024
$69 - $246
Musical
RENTRENT
15 Mar 2024 to 17 Mar 2024
$59 - $129
Musical