The TEMPEST
UNIVERSITY OF ADELAIDE THEATRE GUILD presents
The TEMPEST

24 Mar 2023 to 1 Apr 2023

Written by William Shakespeare

Directed by Bronwyn Palmer

24th MARCH - 1st APRIL 2023

Little Theatre


A story of shipwreck and magic, The Tempest begins on a ship caught in a violent storm with Alonso, the King of Naples, on board. On a nearby island, the exiled Duke of Milan, Prospero, tells his daughter, Miranda, that he has caused the storm with his magical powers.  Prospero had been banished twelve years earlier when Prospero’s brother, Antonio—also on the doomed ship—conspired with Alonso to become the duke instead. Prospero and Miranda are served by a spirit named Ariel, and by Caliban, son of the island’s previous inhabitant, the witch Sycorax.

On Rubbish Island, castaways from the wreck begin to appear. First is Alonso’s son Ferdinand, who immediately falls in love with Miranda. Other castaways join forces with Caliban to kill Prospero and take over the island. The nobles from the ship search are confronted with spectacles including a Harpy, who convinces Alonso that death is retribution for Prospero’s exile.

“Hell is empty and all the devils are here.”

Share This Event:   
Venue
Little Theatre - Adelaide University
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
150 minutes
You may also like... The Woman In BlackThe Woman In Black
15 May 2024 to 26 May 2024
$55 - $120
Play
FourteenFourteen
7 Aug 2024 to 10 Aug 2024
$39.80 - $59.00
Play
Potted PotterPotted Potter
Show finished on 12 May 2024
$69.90 - $89.90
Play
ANGELS IN AMERICA:  A Gay Fantasia on National ThemesANGELS IN AMERICA: A Gay Fantasia on National Themes
2 May 2024 to 25 May 2024 Session Times
This is a two part show, ensure you have purchased tickets for both Parts for the full experience.

Thursday 2 May - 7pm (PART ONE)
Friday 3 May - 7pm (PART TWO)
Saturday 4 May - 1pm (PART ONE)
Saturday 4 May - 7pm (PART TWO)

Thursday 9 May - 7pm (PART TWO)
Friday 10 May - 7pm (PART ONE)
Saturday 11 May - 1pm (PART ONE)
Saturday 11 May - 7pm (PART TWO)
Sunday 12 May - 2pm (PART ONE)

Thursday 16 May - 7pm (PART ONE)
Friday 17 May - 7pm (PART TWO)
Saturday 18 May - 1pm (PART ONE)
Saturday 18 May - 7pm (PART TWO)
Sunday 19 May - 2pm (PART TWO)

Friday 24 May - 7pm (PART ONE)
Saturday 25 May - 7pm (PART TWO)

$20 - $25
Play