The Hen House
The Art House Wyong presents
The Hen House

20 Sep 2023

The Art House Presents

A PYT Fairfield and In Wild Company production

The Hen House

By Mara Knezevic, Josipa Draisma and Sime Knezevic

Directed by Anthea Williams

Musical Direction by Zeljko Papic

It’s 1976. Sherbet’s Howzat is No.1 on the Charts. Industries are booming, and it’s migrant women who are cashing in. Pavica, a young Croatian mother is dressed in her crisp white uniform, smiling proudly on the production line, elbows deep in chicken carcasses, loving her job and her new Australian life.

Mila, however, does NOT love her job. In fact, she despises it. The screaming chooks, screeching machines, not to mention the tenosynovitis that plagues the production line. For her, this factory is a hell house. Mila is hellbent on taking this chicken business, and ripping it to bits.

Pavica and Mila are best friends. They need each other to survive this strange feathery world of work. But it might also be the very thing that completely drives them apart.

Weaving together extraordinary, humorous, and tragic multi-lingual stories of female migrant factory workers from Western Sydney with distinctly live and loud original music played by an electrifying all-female rock band, The Hen House elevates diverse women’s voices as powerful and hugely significant to Australia’s social and economic history.

Created and performed by dynamic sister-duo Josipa Draisma (Founder/Creative Director, In Wild Company) and Mara Knezevic (Playlist, PYT Fairfield), with director Anthea Williams (Hir, Sydney Theatre Awards Best Director), The Hen House is a fierce and funny migrant story that pays homage to the stories of European migration in the 60s and 70s and explores the dignity and comedy of the female working-class experience.

Share This Event:   
Venue
The Art House Wyong
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
90 minutes
Restrictions/Warnings
You may also like... My InterventionMy Intervention
13 Mar 2024 to 17 Mar 2024 Session Times
9:15PM Wednesday 13 March [Preview]
9:15PM Friday 15 March [Opening Night]
9:15PM Saturday 16 March
7:30PM Sunday 17 March
$20 - $25
Musical
RENTRENT
15 Mar 2024 to 17 Mar 2024
$59 - $129
Musical
& Juliet& Juliet
27 Feb 2024 to 12 May 2024
Tickets from $79.90
Musical
PARADEPARADE
9 May 2024 to 25 May 2024 Session Times
Thu 9 May - 7:30pm
Fri 10 May - 7:30pm
Sat 11 May - 2pm
Sat 11 May - 7:30pm
Sun 12 May - 5pm
Mon 13 May - 7pm
Wed 15 May - 7pm
Thu 16 May - 7:30pm
Sat 18 May - 2pm
Sat 18 May - 7:30pm
Sun 19 May - 5pm
Mon 20 May - 7pm
Wed 22 May - 7pm
Thu 23 May - 7:30pm
Fri 24 May - 7:30pm
Sat 25 May - 2pm
Sat 25 May - 2pm
Sat 25 May - 7:30pm
$89 - $199
Musical
Dog Man: The MusicalDog Man: The Musical
Show finished on 13 Jan 2024
$39 - $59
Musical