The Long Way Home
Sydney Theatre Company presents
The Long Way Home

5 Mar 2014 to 8 Mar 2014

Sydney Theatre Company and the Australian Defence Force present
THE LONG WAY HOME
By Daniel Keene

We shall overcome

Created from first-hand accounts, The Long Way Home reflects the Australian Defence Force's recent experiences on operations in Iraq, Afghanistan and East Timor as well as humanitarian and disaster relief.

As we approach the centenary of the beginning of The Great War, Australia and the world will pause and find their own ways to explore the impact of this war on their lives and minds. Sydney Theatre Company has embarked upon an historic endeavour with the Australian Defence Force to present this major new work, taking the words and experiences of servicemen and women to create a unique, inspiring and unforgettable event.

British director Stephen Rayne and multi-award-winning Australian writer Daniel Keene have shaped a powerful piece of theatre, featuring military personnel recovering from physical and psychological injuries. These servicemen and women will perform alongside professional actors as part of a broader rehabilitation program that will assist their recovery. We open a door on their lives while deployed on operations and illuminate the challenges of their return to everyday life.

This major new work will embark on a national tour following its performances in Sydney.

Share This Event:   
1 more video
Venue
Illawarra Performing Arts Centre (IPAC) - IMB Theatre
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
2 hours (including interval)
Restrictions/WarningsTour Dates and LocationsMedia
You may also like... FourteenFourteen
3 May 2024 to 4 May 2024
Play
The Woman In BlackThe Woman In Black
23 Jul 2024 to 27 Jul 2024
$55 - $120
Play
The MousetrapAgatha Christie's The Mousetrap
15 Aug 2024 to 25 Aug 2024
$60.00 - $110.00
Play
A Midsummer Nights DreamA Midsummer Night's Dream
30 May 2024
$30.00 - $52.00
Play
The Great Divide The Great Divide
8 Mar 2024 to 27 Apr 2024 Session Times
Friday, 08 Mar 2024 - 8:00 pm
Saturday, 09 Mar 2024 - 2:00 pm
Saturday, 09 Mar 2024 - 8:00 pm
Sunday, 10 Mar 2024 - 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 12 Mar 2024 - 11:00 am
Tuesday, 12 Mar 2024 - 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 13 Mar 2024 - 7:30 pm
Thursday, 14 Mar 2024 - 7:30 pm
Friday, 15 Mar 2024 - 8:00 pm
Saturday, 16 Mar 2024 - 3:30 pm
Saturday, 16 Mar 2024 - 8:00 pm
Sunday, 17 Mar 2024 - 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 19 Mar 2024 - 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 20 Mar 2024 - 7:30 pm
Thursday, 21 Mar 2024 - 11:00 am
Thursday, 21 Mar 2024 - 7:30 pm
Friday, 22 Mar 2024 - 8:00 pm
Saturday, 23 Mar 2024 - 3:30 pm
Saturday, 23 Mar 2024 - 8:00 pm
Sunday, 24 Mar 2024 - 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 26 Mar 2024 - 11:00 am
Tuesday, 26 Mar 2024 - 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 27 Mar 2024 - 7:30 pm
Thursday, 28 Mar 2024 - 11:00 am
Thursday, 28 Mar 2024 - 7:30 pm
Saturday, 30 Mar 2024 - 3:30 pm
Saturday, 30 Mar 2024 - 8:00 pm
Tuesday, 02 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 03 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Thursday, 04 Apr 2024 - 11:00 am
Thursday, 04 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Friday, 05 Apr 2024 - 8:00 pm
Saturday, 06 Apr 2024 - 3:30 pm
Saturday, 06 Apr 2024 - 8:00 pm
Sunday, 07 Apr 2024 - 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 09 Apr 2024 - 11:00 am
Tuesday, 09 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 10 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Thursday, 11 Apr 2024 - 11:00 am
Thursday, 11 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Friday, 12 Apr 2024 - 8:00 pm
Saturday, 13 Apr 2024 - 3:30 pm
Saturday, 13 Apr 2024 - 8:00 pm
Sunday, 14 Apr 2024 - 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 16 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 17 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Thursday, 18 Apr 2024 - 11:00 am
Thursday, 18 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Friday, 19 Apr 2024 - 8:00 pm
Saturday, 20 Apr 2024 - 3:30 pm
Saturday, 20 Apr 2024 - 8:00 pm
Sunday, 21 Apr 2024 - 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 23 Apr 2024 - 11:00 am
Tuesday, 23 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 24 Apr 2024 - 11:00 am
Wednesday, 24 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm Free Teen
Friday, 26 Apr 2024 - 8:00 pm
Saturday, 27 Apr 2024 - 3:30 pm
Saturday, 27 Apr 2024 - 8:00 pm

$40-99
Play