Coil
re:group presents
Coil

8 Jul 2023

An immediate hit with critics and audiences, Coil is one of those rare productions: gobsmackingly clever in its execution while being funny, warm hearted and deeply resonant.

Blurring the boundaries of theatre and cinema, this innovative new work draws on our collective memories to pay tribute to the glory days of the video store and the communities we made within them. Coil reflects upon the joys, perils and pitfalls of nostalgia, and how we grapple with goodbyes to move on.

Creating new work at the very edge of video technology and live performance, re:group mash theatre and movie-making together to create ‘live cinema’. Inspired by the highs and lows of pop culture, re:group aim to turn typically comfortable and passive viewing experiences into something immersive, irreverent, and inherently live.

Don’t miss this playful, one-of-a-kind live cinema experience.

Performers Solomon Thomas, Steve Wilson-Alexander & Carly Young

Screenplay Mark Rogers

Share This Event:   
Venue
Jetty Memorial Theatre
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
60mins, no interval
Restrictions/WarningsTour Dates and Locations
You may also like... Wild Dogs Under My SkirtWild Dogs Under My Skirt
18 Apr 2024 to 20 Apr 2024
$39 - $44.50
Play
Strangers on a TrainStrangers on a Train
16 Mar 2024 to 20 Apr 2024 Session Times
Fridays and Saturdays - 7.30pm
Sundays - 4.30pm
Note: no shows Easter weekend

$30 - $35
Play
A Case for The Existence of GodA Case for The Existence of God
11 Apr 2024 to 4 May 2024 Session Times
Thu 11 Apr 7:30pm
Fri 12 Apr 7:30pm
Sat 13 Apr 2pm, 7:30pm
Tue 16 Apr 7:30pm
Wed 17 Apr 7:30pm
Thu 18 Apr 7:30pm
Fri 19 Apr 7:30pm
Sat 20 Apr 2pm, 7:30pm
Tue 23 Apr 7:30pm
Wed 24 Apr 7:30pm
Fri 26 Apr 7:30pm
Sat 27 Apr 2pm, 7:30pm
Tue 30 Apr 7:30pm
Wed 1 May 7:30pm
Thu 2 May 7:30pm
Fri 3 May 7:30pm
Sat 4 May 2pm, 7:30pm

Starting from $36
Play
SHORT+SWEET THEATRE SYDNEY 2024SHORT+SWEET THEATRE SYDNEY 2024
29 Feb 2024 to 21 Apr 2024 Session Times
WEEK 3 | Thursday 29 February 7:30pm
WEEK 3 | Friday 1 March 7:30pm
WEEK 3 | Saturday 2 March 7:30pm
WEEK 3 | Sunday 3 March 6:30pm
WEEK 4 | Thursday 7 March 7:30pm
WEEK 4 | Friday 8 March 7:30pm
WEEK 4 | Saturday 9 March 7:30pm
WEEK 4 | Sunday 10 March 6:30pm
WEEK 5 | Thursday 14 March 7:30pm
WEEK 5 | Friday 15 March 7:30pm
WEEK 5 | Saturday 16 March 7:30pm
WEEK 5 | Sunday 17 March 6:30pm
WEEK 6 | Thursday 28 March 7:30pm
WEEK 6 | Friday 29 March 7:30pm
WEEK 6 | Saturday 30 March 7:30pm
WEEK 6 | Sunday 31 March 6:30pm
WEEK 7 | Thursday 4 April 7:30pm
WEEK 7 | Friday 5 April 7:30pm
WEEK 7 | Saturday 6 April 7:30pm
WEEK 7 | Sunday 7 April 6:30pm
WEEK 8 | Thursday 18 April 7:30pm
WEEK 8 | Friday 19 April 7:30pm
WEEK 8 | Saturday 20 April 7:30pm
WEEK 8 | Sunday 21 April 6:30pm
$25 - $30
Play
The Great Divide The Great Divide
8 Mar 2024 to 27 Apr 2024 Session Times
Friday, 08 Mar 2024 - 8:00 pm
Saturday, 09 Mar 2024 - 2:00 pm
Saturday, 09 Mar 2024 - 8:00 pm
Sunday, 10 Mar 2024 - 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 12 Mar 2024 - 11:00 am
Tuesday, 12 Mar 2024 - 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 13 Mar 2024 - 7:30 pm
Thursday, 14 Mar 2024 - 7:30 pm
Friday, 15 Mar 2024 - 8:00 pm
Saturday, 16 Mar 2024 - 3:30 pm
Saturday, 16 Mar 2024 - 8:00 pm
Sunday, 17 Mar 2024 - 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 19 Mar 2024 - 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 20 Mar 2024 - 7:30 pm
Thursday, 21 Mar 2024 - 11:00 am
Thursday, 21 Mar 2024 - 7:30 pm
Friday, 22 Mar 2024 - 8:00 pm
Saturday, 23 Mar 2024 - 3:30 pm
Saturday, 23 Mar 2024 - 8:00 pm
Sunday, 24 Mar 2024 - 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 26 Mar 2024 - 11:00 am
Tuesday, 26 Mar 2024 - 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 27 Mar 2024 - 7:30 pm
Thursday, 28 Mar 2024 - 11:00 am
Thursday, 28 Mar 2024 - 7:30 pm
Saturday, 30 Mar 2024 - 3:30 pm
Saturday, 30 Mar 2024 - 8:00 pm
Tuesday, 02 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 03 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Thursday, 04 Apr 2024 - 11:00 am
Thursday, 04 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Friday, 05 Apr 2024 - 8:00 pm
Saturday, 06 Apr 2024 - 3:30 pm
Saturday, 06 Apr 2024 - 8:00 pm
Sunday, 07 Apr 2024 - 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 09 Apr 2024 - 11:00 am
Tuesday, 09 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 10 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Thursday, 11 Apr 2024 - 11:00 am
Thursday, 11 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Friday, 12 Apr 2024 - 8:00 pm
Saturday, 13 Apr 2024 - 3:30 pm
Saturday, 13 Apr 2024 - 8:00 pm
Sunday, 14 Apr 2024 - 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 16 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 17 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Thursday, 18 Apr 2024 - 11:00 am
Thursday, 18 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Friday, 19 Apr 2024 - 8:00 pm
Saturday, 20 Apr 2024 - 3:30 pm
Saturday, 20 Apr 2024 - 8:00 pm
Sunday, 21 Apr 2024 - 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 23 Apr 2024 - 11:00 am
Tuesday, 23 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 24 Apr 2024 - 11:00 am
Wednesday, 24 Apr 2024 - 7:30 pm Free Teen
Friday, 26 Apr 2024 - 8:00 pm
Saturday, 27 Apr 2024 - 3:30 pm
Saturday, 27 Apr 2024 - 8:00 pm

$40-99
Play