The Italian Comedy
Something Wicked presents
The Italian Comedy

11 Oct 2023 to 21 Oct 2023

Something Wicked presents

THE ITALIAN COMEDY

By Steven Hopley & Alexander Gibbs

 

Placebo is the owner of the most unfashionable fashion store in Venice, holding out against the rising tide of the capitalist Cello and his cut-rate clothing factory. On the plus side, it gives him time to play matchmaker to his young friend, Folio. But when there is unrest at the factory, and Folio’s revolutionary sister Messia is involved, Placebo gets more than he bargained for when he agrees to shelter the fugitive in his store – disguised as a mannequin.

Lovingly hand-made by award-winning playwrights Steven Hopley and Alexander Gibbs, influenced by recipes handed down from commedia dell’arte and the Marx Brothers, this spicy new comedy is fresh from the oven with extra cheese – make sure you get a slice while its hot! 

 

Starring Carla Field, James Hartley, Brendan Layton, Logan McArthur, Rosie Meader, Tess O’Sullivan, Nicholas Richard & Emilia Stubbs Grigoriou

Directed by Steven Hopley

 

@ MERAKI ARTS BAR

231 Oxford St, Darlinghurst

 

October 11-21 

Tues-Sat at 7.30pm, Saturday matinee at 2pm

Previews: October 11 & 12

 

Tickets: $35 full / $30 concession / $20 preview

Bookings: merakisydney.com

Share This Event:   
Venue
Meraki Arts Bar
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
60mins
You may also like... Potted PotterPotted Potter
9 Apr 2024 to 21 Apr 2024
$69 - $89
Play
SHORT+SWEET THEATRE SYDNEY 2024SHORT+SWEET THEATRE SYDNEY 2024
29 Feb 2024 to 21 Apr 2024 Session Times
WEEK 3 | Thursday 29 February 7:30pm
WEEK 3 | Friday 1 March 7:30pm
WEEK 3 | Saturday 2 March 7:30pm
WEEK 3 | Sunday 3 March 6:30pm
WEEK 4 | Thursday 7 March 7:30pm
WEEK 4 | Friday 8 March 7:30pm
WEEK 4 | Saturday 9 March 7:30pm
WEEK 4 | Sunday 10 March 6:30pm
WEEK 5 | Thursday 14 March 7:30pm
WEEK 5 | Friday 15 March 7:30pm
WEEK 5 | Saturday 16 March 7:30pm
WEEK 5 | Sunday 17 March 6:30pm
WEEK 6 | Thursday 28 March 7:30pm
WEEK 6 | Friday 29 March 7:30pm
WEEK 6 | Saturday 30 March 7:30pm
WEEK 6 | Sunday 31 March 6:30pm
WEEK 7 | Thursday 4 April 7:30pm
WEEK 7 | Friday 5 April 7:30pm
WEEK 7 | Saturday 6 April 7:30pm
WEEK 7 | Sunday 7 April 6:30pm
WEEK 8 | Thursday 18 April 7:30pm
WEEK 8 | Friday 19 April 7:30pm
WEEK 8 | Saturday 20 April 7:30pm
WEEK 8 | Sunday 21 April 6:30pm
$25 - $30
Play
A Midsummer Nights DreamA Midsummer Night's Dream
2 Apr 2024
$15 - $50
Play
The Woman In BlackThe Woman In Black
23 Jul 2024 to 27 Jul 2024
55-120
Play
A Midsummer Nights DreamA Midsummer Night's Dream
2 Mar 2024 to 30 Mar 2024
$35 - $90
Play