The Shakesbeer Sessions: Much Ado About Nothing
Bar'd Word presents
The Shakesbeer Sessions: Much Ado About Nothing

14 Apr 2024 to 28 Apr 2024

Bar’d Work is back! Australia’s favourite pub Shakespeare company goes back to its roots with the hilarious comedy Much Ado About Nothing, as part of the much-loved Shakesbeer Sessions

Much Ado sees two of the Bard’s greatest character creations go head-to-head in a battle of wits. Leaping off the page and into the pub, Beatrice and Benedick attempt to save a wedding under threat by the villainous Don John.

The show delivers more romance than MAFS, performed by actors that will share a drink with the audience - before, during, and after the show!

Expect a fast, funny, and irreverent 90-minute take on Shakespeare’s classic comedy performed in a selection of Sydney’s most iconic venues, both familiar and new.

“The Bar’d is back taking Sydney pubs by storm. Performing Shakespeare the way the Bard himself intended - in packed out pubs, for the people,” said director and creator Chris Huntly-Turner.

Shakespeare wasn’t written for the classroom or fancy theatres. The Bard’s early plays were written and performed in Elizabethan Inn Yards. It was the ultimate in populist entertainment; accessible and understandable for all. 

 

★★ “Bar’d Work are demonstrating, in terrific fashion, that it doesn’t take a complete upheaval of these plays for them to be fantastically accessible for a modern audience… The audience was in stitches from start to finish.”★★

Laura Heuston, Theatre Travels.

 

What began in 2019 as a conversation between actors after a performance of ‘serious’ Shakespeare, the Bar’d Work founders wanted to return Shakespeare to its origins as live, bawdy, and energetic entertainment. 

Bringing the stories to life for modern day audiences, Bar’d Work has become a staple of the Aussie pub scene, entertaining thousands of delighted audience members with its interactive, singalong versions of Shakespeare comedies.

The company has previously sold out multiple seasons across Sydney and Melbourne, and taken Shakespeare on the road regionally around NSW and VIC.


Thu April 4th: Public House Petersham

Fri April 5th: Camperdown Hotel, Camperdown

Sun April 7th: Highfield, Caringbah

Thu April 11th: Public House Petersham

Fri April 12th: OTiS, Leichhardt

Sun April 14th: The Oaks Hotel, Neutral Bay

Thu April 18th: The Shakey, Surry Hills

Fri April 19th: DiCK’s Hotel, Balmain

Sat April 20th: OTiS, Leichhardt

Sun April 21st: The Harold, Forest Lodge

Fri April 26th: Camperdown Hotel, Camperdown

Sat April 27th: Staves Brewery, Glebe

Sun April 28th: The Oaks Hotel, Neutral Bay


 

Share This Event:   
Buy Tickets   Venue
The Oaks Hotel
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
2 hours
Restrictions/WarningsTour Dates and Locations

Creatives Chris  Huntly-Turner Chris Huntly-Turner
Director

https://huntlyturner.com/

 

Actor: Graduate of the Royal Central School of Speech & Drama

Theatre: Henry V/ As You Like It (Pop Up Globe Auckland), Nectar of the Gods (Mongrel Mouth), The Frontier Trilogy (Jethro Compton Productions), Sonnet Walks (Shakespeare’s Globe), Hamlet (Park Theatre), The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, The Jungle Book (Chapterhouse Theatre Company), No More Page 3 (Park Theatre), Modern Jesus (Nursery Theatre), The Will (Sydney Fringe), The Farnsworth Invention (New Theatre), Toy Box (subtlnuance), Under Milkwood, Our Country’s Good (Rough Hewn Theatre Troupe).

Chris is the Artistic Director and co-founder of Bar’d Work, a company specialising in short, sharp Shakespeare in Sydney pubs. Bard Work’s first production premiered the famous comedy Much Ado About Nothing as part of the inaugural Shakesbeer Sessions in Sydney pubs in February – March 2019. Chris co-directed this sold out season and received a joint BroadwayWorld Sydney Award in 2019 for Best Director.

Chris directed Season 2 of The Shakesbeer Sessions Twelfth Night which took place in August – September 2021, including a regional tour, which was another sell-out success. Season 3 As You Like It was short and sweet due to COVID, but sold out all tickets prior to it’s mid-season cancellation. Bar’d Work is back in 2024.

more ...
Cast
You may also like... GaslightGaslight
19 Jun 2024 to 23 Jun 2024
Tickets from $69.90
Play
FourteenFourteen
15 May 2024 to 16 May 2024
$20.00 - $49.00
Play
The MousetrapAgatha Christie's The Mousetrap
15 Aug 2024 to 25 Aug 2024
$60.00 - $110.00
Play
RatburgerRatburger
17 Apr 2024 to 28 Apr 2024 Session Times
Wednesday 17 April 202410.30am, 12.30pm
Thursday 18 April 202410.30am, 12.30pm
Friday 19 April 202410.30am, 12.30pm, 6pm
Saturday 20 April 202410.30am, 12.30pm
Sunday 21 April 202410.30am, 12.30pm, 4pm
Tuesday 23 April 202410.30am, 12.30pm
Wednesday 24 April 202412.30pm, 6pm
Thursday 25 April 202410.30am*, 12.30pm
Friday 26 April 202412.30pm, 6pm
Saturday 27 April 202410.30am, 12.30pm
Sunday 28 April 202410.30am, 12.30pm
Tickets from $29 + $8.95 booking fee
Play
SwitzerlandSwitzerland
3 May 2024 to 8 Jun 2024 Session Times
Friday, 3 May 2024 - 8:00 pm Preview
Saturday, 4 May 2024 - 2:00 pm Preview
Saturday, 4 May 2024 - 8:00 pm Preview
Sunday, 5 May 2024 - 5:00 pm Preview
Tuesday, 7 May 2024 - 11:00 am Sold Out
Tuesday, 7 May 2024 - 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 8 May 2024 - 7:30 pm
Friday, 10 May 2024 - 8:15 pm
Saturday, 11 May 2024 - 2:00 pm
Saturday, 11 May 2024 - 8:15 pm
Sunday, 12 May 2024 - 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 14 May 2024 - 11:00 am
Wednesday, 15 May 2024 - 11:00 am
Wednesday, 15 May 2024 - 8:15 pm
Thursday, 16 May 2024 - 8:15 pm
Saturday, 18 May 2024 - 4:30 pm
Saturday, 18 May 2024 - 8:15 pm
Sunday, 19 May 2024 - 2:00 pm
Tuesday, 21 May 2024 - 11:00 am
Tuesday, 21 May 2024 - 6:15 pm
Wednesday, 22 May 2024 - 11:00 am
Wednesday, 22 May 2024 - 6:15 pm
Thursday, 23 May 2024 - 8:15 pm
Friday, 24 May 2024 - 8:15 pm
Saturday, 25 May 2024 - 2:00 pm
Sunday, 26 May 2024 - 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 28 May 2024 - 8:15 pm
Wednesday, 29 May 2024 - 8:15 pm
Thursday, 30 May 2024 - 11:00 am
Saturday, 1 Jun 2024 - 4:30 pm
Saturday, 1 Jun 2024 - 8:15 pm
Sunday, 2 Jun 2024 - 2:00 pm
Tuesday, 4 Jun 2024 - 11:00 am
Tuesday, 04 Jun 2024 - 6:15 pm
Wednesday, 5 Jun 2024 - 11:00 am
Wednesday, 5 Jun 2024 - 6:15 pm
Thursday, 6 Jun 2024 - 8:15 pm
Friday, 7 Jun 2024 - 8:15 pm
Saturday, 8 Jun 2024 - 2:00 pm

$43 - $88
Play