West Side Story
Dramatic Productions presents
West Side Story

6 Oct 2023 to 21 Oct 2023

From the first notes to the final breath, West Side Story is one of the most memorable musicals and greatest love stories of all time. Arthur Laurents' book remains as powerful, poignant, and timely as ever. The score by Leonard Bernstein and Stephen Sondheim is widely regarded as one of the best written. The world's greatest love story takes to the streets in this landmark Broadway musical that is one of the theatre's finest accomplishments. 

Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet is transported to modern-day New York City as two young, idealistic lovers find themselves caught between warring street gangs, the "American" Jets and the Puerto Rican Sharks. Their struggle to survive in a world of hate, violence and prejudice is one of the most innovative, heart-wrenching, and relevant musical dramas of our time.

SUPPORTING LOCAL CHARITIES:

As part of Dramatic Productions Dramatic Difference Program, each show (with the exception of Opening and Closing Nights) will be dedicated to one of twelve local charities.

10% of each ticket purchase is donated to each charity as per their dedicated session. 

Saturday 7th October 8pm - Dainere's Rainbow

Sunday 8th October 2pm - RSPCA 

Wednesday 11th October 8pm - Canberra Hospital Foundation

Thursday 12th October 8pm - Home in Queanbeyan

Friday 13th October 8pm - Hands Across Canberra

Saturday 14th October 2pm - Newborn Intensive Care Foundation

Satruday 14th October 8pm - Soldier On

Sunday 15th October 2pm - Majors Creek Wombat Rescue

Wednesday 18th October 8pm - Karabar Housing Cooperative

Thursday 19th October 8pm - Prisoners Aid

Friday 20th October 8pm - AFP Legacy

Saturday 21st Cotober 2pm - Helping ACT

 

PAY IT FORWARD TICKETS:

If you are able and would like to gift the joy of theatre to those who would otherwise not be able to attend, please consider purchasing another reduced price ‘Pay It Forward’ ticket upon check out. These tickets will then be made available to the charities above to provide to their clients and volunteers.

 

PHOTOGRAPHY by Janelle McMenamin

Share This Event:   
Venue
Gungahlin College Theatre
Session TimesTicket PricesRestrictions/WarningsInteractShow Administration
You may also like... THE GRANDPARENTS CLUB - A COMEDY MUSICALTHE GRANDPARENTS CLUB - A COMEDY MUSICAL
13 Jul 2024 to 14 Jul 2024
$64.50 - $69.50
Musical
Mary Poppins JR.Mary Poppins JR.
26 Jun 2024 to 29 Jun 2024 Session Times
Wednesday 26th June 7pm
Thursday 27th June 6pm
Friday 28th June 7pm
Saturday 29th June 2pm

Musical
Mamma Mia! The MusicalMamma Mia! The Musical
24 Jul 2024 to 26 Jul 2024 Session Times
Wednesday 24th July - 6:30pm
Thursday 25th July - 11:30am
Thursday 25th July - 6:30pm
Friday 26th July - 11:30am
Friday 26th July - 6:30pm
**Please note both matinee sessions are school matinee sessions. Tickets will open up to the public once school tickets have been confirmed.
Musical
Seven Drunk NightsSeven Drunk Nights
27 Jul 2024
$89.90 - $109.90
Musical
Jack and the Beanstalk - The Musical Jack and the Beanstalk - The Musical
17 Jul 2024 to 20 Jul 2024 Session Times
Wednesday 17 July 11:00am
Wednesday 17 July 2:00pm
Thursday 18 July 11:00am
Thursday 18 July 2:00pm
Friday 19 July 11:00am
Friday 19 July 2:00pm
Saturday 20 July 11:00am
Saturday 20 July 2:00pm

All tickets $20
Musical